Damaged - Pamela Callow

Damaged

By Pamela Callow

  • Release Date: 2010-06-01
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 685 Ratings

Description

The thriller that launched lawyer Kate Lange into the hearts of a quarter of a million readers—and into the path of a serial killer...

"...every bit as exciting as books by many New York Times bestselling authors..."—Fresh Fiction

Haunted by the death of her sister and wounded by her ex-fiancé's accusations, Kate Lange throws herself into her new career at a high-powered law firm.

When the grandmother of a lonely private school student seeks her counsel, Kate thinks it's just another custody case. But then the teen is brutally murdered. And it isn't only Kate who wonders if her legal advice led to the girl's death.

"...a taut, edge-of-the-seat thriller..."—#1 Internationally Bestselling Author Linwood Barclay

Put on notice by Randall Barrett, the firm's charismatic managing partner, Kate must fight for her career, for her reputation - and for redemption.

Unwilling to live with the damage she may have caused, Kate pursues the case on her own and unearths some chilling facts.

"...dark and dangerously suspenseful..."—Atlantic Books Today

Facts that lead straight to the heart of a legal conspiracy.

Facts that lead Kate directly into the surgically skilled hands of the Body Butcher.

"Part medical mystery, part bloody thriller, here is a debut that had me flipping pages until the wee hours of the morning."—#1 New York Times Bestselling Author James Rollins

A Levy “Need to Read Pick" with Top Ten Bestseller display, now under option for television development. For fans of John Grisham, Patricia Cornwell, James Patterson, and Tess Gerritsen.


PRAISE FOR DAMAGED:

“Pamela Callow’s debut thriller, DAMAGED, reminded me of the best of Robin Cook: lightning paced, innovative, topical… and most of all, frightening. Part medical mystery, part bloody thriller, here is a debut that had me flipping pages into the wee hours of the morning.”

—James Rollins, #1 NYT bestselling author

"DAMAGED is a taut, edge-of-the-seat thriller with strong characters and a driving plot. Pamela Callow is Halifax's answer to both John Grisham and Tess Gerritsen."
—Linwood Barclay, internationally bestselling author 

"Taut, tense, and relentlessly chilling… this fast- paced thriller is the definition of page-turner: you can't wait to find out what happens -- but you're not sure you want to know."
Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha-winning author

"A compelling page-turner... Pamela Callow is a rising star."
—Rick Mofina, bestselling author of SIX SECONDS

"Extremely well plotted, Callow's debut novel is a hybrid of a police procedural and medical thriller. Heroine Kate Lange is a standout character, and readers will certainly look forward to reading her further adventures." 
—RT Book Reviews

"Pamela Callow's debut thriller, DAMAGED, is every bit as exciting as books by many New York Times bestselling authors... This tightly wound thriller springs through an intricately woven plot to keep the reader anticipating and squirming to the last pages."
—Fresh Fiction

"Saying it's action-packed is a bit of an understatement. It's the kind of book you buy on Friday and stay up all night reading." 
—The Chronicle Herald

"...this debut novel by a member of the Nova Scotia bar is one utterly complete, complex and convincing book that has one hooked from the first line...while this is a thriller, well-written and with a great plot, it is one that defies categorising. While the mystery may be medical with sophisticated and high technology required to improve lives, it’s dark and dangerously suspenseful..."
— Atlantic Books Today 

Reviews

  • Damaged

    5
    By Seeley52
    Love the character Kate Lang. Read it twice. Looking forward to reading the other books in the series.
  • Damaged

    5
    By elizabeth priest
    Loved your detailed descriptions of clothing, rooms, feelings and thoughts. You are a very gifted writer. Enjoyed the read. The story began with a grasp so strong I couldn’t stop turning pages. The description of the fight and flight seen in the morgue kept my attention and am in admiration of your ability to convey the process so true to what may be reality. I could see Kate and feel her fear. Great job!
  • Great read

    5
    By Therealpipud
    You get hooked on this book and the whole series. Easy and addictive read.
  • Damaged

    5
    By avery's grammie
    Loved this book!! Looking forward to starting the next one Immediately!
  • Damaged

    5
    By KR3W OR DIE
    This book drew me in and kept me at the edge of my seat. With twists and turns and breath grasping moments. Looking forward to reading the next title in the series.
  • SOOOO good!

    5
    By AshleyH83
    I could not put this book down! Excellent pace, gripping story, great characters. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!
  • Damaged

    5
    By Ppirt
    This book is an excellent read! Suspenseful! Don't miss out on this page turner!
  • Damaged

    4
    By Zombiekyller
    Great book. It was a real page turner. I enjoyed it very much. I love a mystery and there was plenty of twists to keep you interested.
  • Fast action . . .

    5
    By airamy222
    All the way through. Very good read.
  • It’s Good!

    4
    By Otitus
    How do you fairly rate a book that is obviously a success? This is a good read and an interesting plot. The writing is fine and the character development is very good, for many of the characters. But, for me, a guy, the heroine just seems more suited for a romance novel (which I can only assume since I’m not into romance novels). Her responses to the men, and less so the men to her, just derails the narrative because I start wondering if the writer writes romance novels and is trying to exit that niche. Or maybe the writer wants to be a romance novelist. But that’s why I didn’t give it 5 stars. By the way, I think the cover art is “romance novel” category as well.

Comments